Learn more about our rich history in Carmel
Tally Ho Inn’s history dates back to the early 20th century, as one of a number of guest cottages constructed by the Pine Inn on an adjacent property to meet increasing demand for overnight accommodations.
Amenities included a putting green, nearby horse stables, and tennis courts. Cottages were equipped with heat, hot water, and telephones, as well as complete hotel service provided by the Pine Inn.
In 1945, Jimmy Hatlo, a New York cartoonist known for creating They’ll Do It Every Time and Little Iodine, purchased the Tally Ho Inn and the tennis courts with his wife. That year, he hired Hugh Comstock, a Carmel builder known for his “fairy-tale” architecture, to remodel the cottage into a mansion.
Comstock added several rooms, a patio and deck, and a distinctive, personally carved newel post at the foot of the stairway fronting on Monte Verde Street. The interior “bleached” walls have been preserved in the lobby, and the adobe-faced exterior was one of Comstock’s trademarks.
The quaint little fireplace in the English garden was built by the Hatlos’ gardener for evening bonfires, and is now the rustic centerpiece of our beautiful little English garden.
Because the Comstock remodeling took place during World War II, necessary building supplies were almost impossible to find. Due to this frustration, the Hatlos named their completed home “Wit’s End.”
Around 1952, the Hatlo home was converted into an inn by Tom McCrea (actor Joel McCrea’s brother). Each subsequent owner has been careful to safeguard Tally Ho’s unique character.
The most recent owner, Richard Gunner, purchased the hotel in 1993; he has completed a series of major upgrades, modernizing the hotel while also preserving Tally Ho’s wonderful and unique English countryside ambiance and architecture.